MLB All Star Game 2011

The 82nd Major League Baseball All-Star Game 2011 will be played at Chase Field tonight in Phoenix, Arizona. A record 84 players were selected for the American and National League teams. Derek Jeter who got his 3000th career hit, last weekend, with a homer for the New York Yankees and a baseball star attraction, will not be at the All-Star Game as he wants to rest his injured calf.

MLB All Star Game 2011

Jered Weaver of the Los Angeles Angels will be the starting pitcher for the American League. He says he is humbled by the experience and an honor to share the mound with such great pitchers. Starting pitcher for the National League is Roy Halladay of the Philadelphia Phillies. The winner of the Home Run Derby last night, Robinson Cano, will bat eighth for the American League All Stars.

Starting at bats for the American League is Yankee outfielder, Curtis Granderson. Batting fourth, is the league leader with 31 home runs, outfielder Jose Bautista from the Toronto Blue Jays. Rickie Weeks, second baseman with the Milwaukee Brewers will lead off the bats for the National League All Stars. Carlos Beltran, the Mets outfielder, will bat second for the NL. During the game tonight you can vote for the 2011 MLB All-Star MVP.

Speak Your Mind