Tour de France 2011: Stage 17 Results

Stage 17 of Tour de France ran from Gap to Pinerolo featuring two category-3 climbs, a couple of category-2 climbs and a category-1 climb. The stage witnessed 170 bikers starting the tournament with Tour de France 2011 Stage 17 results showing the Norwegians dominating the race.

Tour de France 2011

A group of 10 cyclists took the lead, including Linus Gerdeman (Leopard), Edvald Boasson Hagen and Geraint Thomas (Sky), Remy DiGregorio (Astana), Luis Leon Sanchez (Rabobank), Rui Costa (Movistar), Sandy Casar (FdJ), Danilo Hondo (Lampre), Tejay Van Garderen (HTC-HighRoad), and Thomas de Gendt (Vacansoleil). The ten lost their lead by the 60th kilometer mark while Astana’s Paolo Tiralongo had left the tournament.

The Tour de France 2011 Stage 17 results after the 60th kilometer saw a new taking of the lead with 14 cyclists making a gap of three minutes. Sylvain Chavanel (Quickstep) managed to cross first the KOM line, leading the pack with 4.55-minutes advantage. Sandy Casar (FdJ) won the intermediate sprint points while Mark Cavendish (HTC-Highroad) managed to get a point at the intermediate sprint.

After the final of the Tour de France 2011 Stage 17 results we saw the following cyclists take the stage leading places: Edvald Boasson Hagen, Bauke Mollema, Sandy Casar, Julien El Fares, Sylvain Chavanel, Dmitriy Fofonov, Maciej Paterski, Dmitriy Muravyev, Jonathan Hivert, and Borut Bozic.
Thomas Voeckler is ranked first after 17 stages, followed by Cadel Evans, Frank Schleck ,Andy Schleck , and Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez. The 18th stage for Le Tour De France 2011 continues Thursday.

Speak Your Mind